Trail of Tears Educational Symposium

An educational symposium to commemorate the 180th anniversary of the Trail of Tears and the 50th anniversary of the National Park Service National Historic Trails system.

Location: George R. Johnson Cultural Heritage Center Auditorium.

Details: The event is free and open to the public. Doors open at 9 a.m. Informational displays will be provided by related organizations.

Speakers: Brett Riggs, Sequoyah Distinguished Professor in Cherokee Studies at Western Carolina University; Joe Guy, McMinn County Sheriff and County Historian; and Troy Wayne Poteete, National Director of the Trail of Tears Association.

Sponsors: Cleveland State Community College and Tennessee Chapter of the Trail of Tears Association.